MGWA Continues Support of Met Area Caddies

President Alan Nahoum accepts donation from Dave Donelson, President, MGWA

Greenwich, CT (October 25, 2018) — As his first official business as president of the Westchester Golf Association Caddie Scholarship Fund, Mr. Alan Nahoum accepted a $12,000 donation from Mr. Dave Donelson, the current president of the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association (MGWA) during the WGA CSF’s Annual Meeting at Tamarack Country Club.

Mr. Donelson presented this donation that represented the proceeds from the 2018 National Awards Dinner and other fundraising activities.  He was pleased to add that the Association is proud to continue to support the efforts of the Fund.

“We are grateful for the MGWA’s continued support and our shared mission of helping Met area youth,” said Mr. Nahoum.  “The National Awards Dinner is a favorite event of ours.  We look forward to attending next year and thank you for this significant donation…one of the largest in this relationship.”

The Metropolitan Golf Writers Association hosted its 67th National Awards Dinner on Monday, June 18, 2018, at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, New York.  Since 1952, the MGWA has recognized the game’s greatest players, contributors, and organizations at its National Awards Dinner – the longest-running and often the largest golf dinner in the U.S. each year. Every year, more than 500 representatives from Met area clubs, the industry’s leading organizations, corporate supporters, and national media attend this special night.

This year, Padraig Harrington was awarded the Gold Tee Award, one of golf’s most prestigious honors.  Carol Semple Thompson was awarded the Distinguised Service Award; Morgan Hoffman the Mary Bea Porter Award; Hank Gola the Lincoln Werden Golf Journalism Award; the Justin Thomas Family the Family of the Year; and Fresh Meadow Country Club the Club of the Year.

Since the inception of the annual dinner, the MGWA has raised over $2 million for caddie scholarship programs in the Metropolitan New York area, the MGA Foundation, and the Dave Marr Journalism Scholarship at Columbia University.